Unlike what most people believe, California allows possession of weapons legally. However, it is not as easy as buying a weapon and keeping it at your bedside. Laws on weapons’ possession in Los Angeles are one of the strictest practised in the state. While some weapons are deemed illegal, others become illegal when you make modifications on your end even if it only means changing the type of ammunition or expanding the magazine capacity.
An important thing to notice is that there is a list of “generally prohibited” weapons that are illegal to possess, sell, or manufacture under California law.
What are “Generally Prohibited Weapons”?
Under the California penal code 16590, “generally prohibited weapons” cannot be owned, sold or manufactured by a person. These weapons include:
- Knives and Edged Weapons: Air gauge knives, Lipstick case knives, writing pen knives, Ballistic knives, Belt buckle knives, Concealed daggers or dirks, Cane swords, Shobi-zue, or any knives disguised inside a cane, crutch, staff, or similar instruments
- Melee Weapons: Slungshots, metal or brass knuckles, blackjacks, nunchakus
- Firearms and Guns: Cane guns, large capacity magazines, unconventional pistols, zip guns, short-barrelled guns and rifles, undetectable modified firearms, wallet guns
- Ammunition and Explosives: Flechette darts, explosive bullets, military practice hand grenade or replicas
While the possession, sale, or manufacture of these are prohibited and punishable by law, other activities like lending, offering for sale, importing into state or contributing to the manufacturing in any manner is also strictly prohibited under California law.
Penalties for Unlawful Weapons Possession Los Angeles
Penalties for unlawful weapons possession depend on the severity of the case. Possession, sale, or manufacture of a prohibited weapon can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. Under Penal Code 16590, a misdemeanor can have you face probation with one year jail imprisonment, fines of $1000 or both.
Whereas, a felony may lead to imprisonment of one year with probation. If you don’t get probation, then you could be facing anywhere from 16 months to 3 years of incarceration. This may also include a fine of up to $10,000.
In both cases, you will need a criminal defense lawyer who can help in reducing your sentence. Weapons possession laws are very detailed and specific, such that only a professional lawyer can understand. Little details that you may skip can help in the outcome of the case. So, it is best to consult an expert criminal attorney who is familiar with the laws in Los Angeles.
If you are looking for a criminal attorney to help you with unlawful weapons possession case in Los Angeles then we can help you. At our Law4DUI office, veteran attorney C. Robert Brooks can help you fight your case with expertise. For a free consultation with Mr. Brooks, contact us at (310) 994-7989. To know more about our services, visit our website