DUI Third Offense in Los Angeles

DUI Third Offense in Los Angeles

Being charged with DUI in the state of California carries with it very serious penalties if you’re convicted. With each subsequent conviction, those penalties become increasingly harsh. If you’re facing your third DUI conviction in ten years, you need an experienced LA DUI attorney to handle your case. Contact Robert C. Brooks, Attorney at Law immediately.

Penalties for a Third-Time DUI in California

As is the case with first and second DUIs, a third-time DUI is still a misdemeanor offense in the state of California unless there are aggravating circumstances surrounding the arrest. Third DUI convictions, however, carry enhanced penalties, including:

  • At least 120 days in county jail, with a maximum time of 364 days
  • Fines up to $1,000 (the courts may assess additional costs)
  • 18 months of alcohol and substance abuse education
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for two years, which you can drive with. If you refuse an IID, your driving privileges will be suspended for three years.

Contact Robert C. Brooks, Attorney at Law immediately.

Contact Us

How the 10-Year Rule Works

DUI Third Offense in Los AngelesAny prior DUI conviction that you received within 10 years of your current arrest can be counted against you when it comes to determining whether or not you will be charged with a third DUI. That means that your prior DUIs may not be counted against you if they occurred outside the 10-year window. If one or both of your previous DUI convictions occurred in another state, however, the courts may count them as prior DUI convictions for the purpose of prosecuting you under the enhanced penalties if they occurred within the past 10 years.

License Suspension

You may recall from your past DUI arrests that the police confiscated your license. The same thing occurs with a third DUI. Assuming that your license was valid prior to the current DUI arrest, you will be issued a temporary license that will allow you to drive for thirty days. You or your DUI defense lawyer must request a DMV administrative hearing within 10 days of your arrest to avoid an automatic suspension of your driver’s license. It’s important to note that this DMV hearing is not the same as your criminal trial. It’s an administrative process to determine whether or not your driving privileges will be suspended pending trial.

Contact our Los Angeles office immediately for a free initial consultation.

Contact Us

Third-Offense DUI Lawyer in Los Angeles

Whether you feel the charges against you were warranted or not, it’s important to find an attorney who can mount an aggressive defense on your behalf. An experienced LA DUI lawyer can help you get your charges reduced or dismissed altogether. Attorney C. Robert Brooks has been successfully defending clients for decades and he can offer you top-tier legal counsel. Contact our Los Angeles office immediately for a free initial consultation.

Call (310) 994-7989

Send us a message